Okay, just to summarize for anybody and everybody – The Champions League is THE tournament of tournaments in soccer/football, featuring the premier and best professional clubs throughout Europe including PSG, Manchester City, Barcelona, etc. We are talking all the moolah and legendary statuses because not only do you have to be top 1-4 in your countries top league, but you must be top 1-2 in some of the best leagues to qualify without having to play in the qualifiers. Tournaments upon tournaments! Matches upon matches! So, they break these hogs up into 8 groups lettered A-H and do a drawing of who plays who in each group. Top two advance to the quarterfinals after all four teams in their pool play against each other once. For example, Group A is Man City, PSG, Leipzig, and Club Brugge. Everybody plays each other once, win=3points, tie=1points, loss=0points, and after 3 games the top two teams with the most points proceed on. Quarterfinals are a best of 2 with each team having a chance to play at home. Higher total team goals from both matches advances the winner to the semifinals. Same process for semifinals and then we have the championship series featuring the two surviving teams playing a winner take all match at a neutral site. Got lost? Google will fill in the pieces so anyhow we are on to naming the clubs in each pool and sometime next week I will do a broader write up about each pool and what I think might happen. 

The 8 Different Champions League Pools

  • Pool A: Manchester City (England EPL), Paris Saint-Germain(France- Ligue 1), RB Leipzig (Germany Bundesliga), Club Brugge (Belgium Belgian First Div. A).
  • Pool B: Atletico Madrid (Spain- La Liga), Liverpool (England- EPL), Porto FC (Portugal- Primeira Liga), AC Milan(Italy- Serie A).
  • Pool C: Sporting CP(Portugal- Primeira Liga), Borussia Dortmund(Germany- Bundesliga), Ajax(Netherlands Eredivisie), Besiktas(Turkey Super Lig). 
  • Pool D: Inter Milan(Italy Serie A), Real Madrid(Spain La Liga), Shakhtar Donetsk(Ukraine- Premier League), Sheriff Tiraspol(Moldova Divizia National).
  • Pool E: Bayern Munich(Germany Bundesliga), Barcelona(Spain La Liga), Benfica(Portual Primeira Liga), Dynamo Kyiv(Ukraine- Premier League). 
  • Pool F: Villareal, Manchester United, Atalanta, Young Boys.
  • Pool G: Lille, Sevilla, Red Bull Salzburg, Wolfsburg. 
  • Pool H: Chelsea(England- EPL) Defending champions, Juventus(Italy Serie A), Zenit Saint Petersburg, Malmo. 

Other Articles